The most important standards for concrete

Concrete is one of the most important building materials today. Because it is used so frequently, concrete is also very strictly standardized today. This article will tell you which standards there are in general for concrete and where to find them.

Need for standardization

Concrete is a mixture of cement, water, rock and various additives and auxiliary materials. The concrete composition is decisive for the stability of the concrete after hardening. The mixing proportions of this "recipe " must also be adhered to extremely precisely so that the required load-bearing capacity of the concrete component is actually given later.

  • Also read - Possibilities and suppliers for manhole rings made of concrete
  • Also read - Buy hollow concrete blocks
  • Also read - hollow concrete blocks

It has proven to be particularly problematic that a component made of concrete can only be dimensioned exactly if the required concrete quality has been achieved. In addition to the prescribed composition, the grain size used and any additives, the correct "preparation " of the concrete is also important. In the case of shotcrete, for example, the residual moisture of the individual substances is also important so that the required concrete quality can be achieved.

The most important standards

The basic standards for concrete are DIN EN 206 and DIN 1045. Here you will find the most important information about the composition of concrete, regulations for proportions and classifications of the concrete. DIN 1048 contains regulations for test methods for concrete.

In contrast, DIN 488 regulates everything that has to do with reinforcing steel. DIN EN 1992 and DIN EN 10088 contain further regulations for prestressed and reinforced concrete.

DIN EN 934 deals with admixtures for concrete.

In addition, there are a number of other standards that regulate other aspects of concrete construction and reinforced concrete construction.

There are a number of other standards for precast concrete elements, their dimensions and their use. The standards mentioned here only apply to a limited extent to precast concrete parts. DIN EN 14649 and DIN EN 14650 are particularly relevant here, as well as DIN EN 14474, DIN EN 14843 and DIN EN 14844.

Concrete classes

The so-called concrete quality is a classification for concretes specified in DIN EN 206 or DIN 1045. Here, various properties of the concrete are assessed and the respective type of concrete is then divided into appropriate classes.

Above all, the compressive strength class plays an important role in concrete. It is the measure of how resistant the concrete is to pressure loads. For certain purposes, the DIN and other regulations also provide for certain concrete grades and certain compressive strengths. These specifications must not be deviated from, the concrete quality must also be guaranteed.

In the case of ready-mixed concrete, the manufacturer is liable for the quality of the concrete; in the case of ready-mixed concrete (€ 15.69 on Amazon *), the quality is guaranteed if the concrete is prepared properly according to the manufacturer's instructions. When you mix concrete yourself, no binding statements can be made about the quality.